HTC Vive Cosmos VR Headset Review

By



We test and review the new HTC Cosmos, the replacement for the original HTC Vive virtual reality headset. The Cosmos is a big departure from HTC’s previous desktop VR headsets, and we discuss its ergonomics, image quality, inside-out tracking fidelity, and new controllers. Here’s how it compares to the Oculus Rift S and Valve Index!

Shot by Gunther Kirsch and edited by Norman Chan

Subscribe for more videos! http://www.youtube.com/tested
Follow us on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/testedcom
Get updates on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/testedcom

Tested is:
Adam Savage http://www.twitter.com/donttrythis
Norman Chan http://www.twitter.com/nchan
Simone Giertz http://www.twitter.com/simonegiertz
Joey Fameli http://www.joeyfameli.com
Gunther Kirsch https://guntherkirsch.com
Ryan Kiser https://www.instagram.com/ryan.kiser
Kishore Hari http://www.twitter.com/sciencequiche
Sean Charlesworth http://www.twitter.com/cworthdynamics
Jeremy Williams http://www.twitter.com/jerware
Kayte Sabicer https://www.instagram.com/kaytesabicer
Bill Doran https://twitter.com/chinbeard
Ariel Waldman http://www.youtube.com/arielwaldman
Darrell Maloney http://www.twitter.com/thebrokennerd83
Kristen Lomasney https://twitter.com/krystynlo

Intro bumper by Abe Dieckman
Set design by Danica Johnson http://www.twitter.com/saysdanica
Set build by Asa Hillis http://www.asahillis.com

Thanks for watching!

source

43 thoughts on “HTC Vive Cosmos VR Headset Review”

  1. Gotta love the vive. I love it's hand tracking and the fact that if you don't want to stay plugged in and play PCVR, you can unplug it and use it as it's own system! So amazing that it does that because I…. Wait… Oh… crap. Sorry. That's Quest. But it's cool if people like paying twice as much for half the usability.

    Reply
  2. Wait this was a replacment for the vive?

    Jesus they really did not make that clear.

    I research VR like crazy and i thought it was a standalone headset .

    HTC are really good at shooting themselves in the foot .

    Reply
  3. I have heard it is not work the money that the Oculus Rift S is actually as good if not better and $300 less. so Why pay more when both work with Steam and Oculus has it own Eco System as well.

    Reply
  4. Ok, i realize most think both Rift S and Index has better value than the cosmos, but i can get the Cosmos for the same price as the Rift S, is it worth it or not?

    Reply
  5. I would prefer a budget lighthouse Vive model instead of this. Or, they could just not discontinue the original Vive and lower the price. I've been waiting to jump into VR but between this and the Oculus S problems, the mid-level ($$$) options seem worse than ever. HOW IS THIS EVEN POSSIBLE? Dang.

    Reply
  6. My brother is deadset on the Vive brand, we're getting the Cosmos for Christmas. I'm going to try it and hope it works out. If it doesn't, HTC has a pretty decent refund policy, so we'll do that and either get a Rift S or save $300 for an Index.

    Reply
  7. I'm with Valve on this one. Overall their business is just more in line with what I believe and the kind of future I want to live in.
    I can see Oculus selling my data/ adding ads everywhere as soon as they take control of the market. Vive isn't a gaming juggernaut, them trying to make their own store for games and the whole subscription thing is stupid in my view.

    Reply
  8. was waiting for the real review of this. you should of started out by saying they need to recall every cosmos and refit with different camera's. then talk about comfort.

    Reply
  9. What else matters if the tracking is off and you literally can't hold the controllers close to your face, as many games require? If the fundamentals are broken then the rest of the features are just the cherries on top of a pile of hot garbage.

    Reply
  10. So pretty much the cosmos is a rift s with slightly worse controls, worse tracking, and a better screen for 300 dollars more, guess I’m gonna go with the rift cause it doesn’t seem worth it to me, especially cause I prefer base stations and I would prefer just spend a little more for substantial improvements in the index.

    Reply
  11. Yeah, this doesn't really have a market. If your budget is smaller, the Rift S offers the best bang-for-your-buck value at $400. If your budget is higher, the Index is the best VR on the market for $1000. With the Cosmos…$700 is too much, because at that point, what's a little extra to get the Index? Or save $300 and get the Rift S. The HTC Cosmos is in a bad spot and it just doesn't do enough to compete with Facebook or Valve's offerings to make it worth their asking price.

    Reply

Leave a Comment